Nanoose First Nation

Preferred Name:
Nanoose First Nation
Alternative Name:
Formerly Nanoose; Includes Saalequun Tribe Of The Douglas Treaty (1854); Includes Snonowas (Circa 1881) (Variation Snonawas, Snonowus, Snaw-Naw-As)
Halq'eméylem, hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓, Hul’q’umi’num’
BC Regional Office:
West Coast (Nanaimo)
Vancouver Island & Coast
Reserve Land Area:62.80 ha
Chief Brent Collin Edwards
Christopher Bob, Gordon Edwards, Cheryl (Babe) Jones, Lawrence Mitchell
Governance Structure:
Indian Act
Address: 209 Mallard Way
V0R 2H0
Community Description

The Nanoose First Nation, also known as the Snaw-Na-Was First Nation, is a First Nations government located on southern Vancouver Island in southwestern British Columbia, Canada, in the vicinity of the Nanoose Bay, situated 30 minutes north of Nanaimo, B.C. Along with 18 other tribes in the Salish Sea we are Coast Salish people, one of the northern most tribes on the east side of Vancouver Island.

Treaty or Tribal Association
Te'mexw Treaty Association and Naut'sa mawt Tribal Council