LanguagesFN PopulationTotal Pop’nPop’n % FN
  • Dane-Zaa
  • Nēhiyawēwin
  • Dene K’e
  • Tse’khene
  • Anishnaubemowin

Regional Description

The Northeast region encompasses 202,502 square kilometres of land, making up approximately 22% of B.C.’s total land base. The region shares a border with Alberta and the Yukon and is part of the Peace River Basin. It is separated from the northwestern part of the province by the Rocky Mountain Trench. The main population and commercial centres in the region are Fort St. John and Dawson Creek.  Approximately 7% of the region’s 68,700 residents are First Nations.

With much of the region lying east of the Rockies, the physical geography of the Northeast is distinct from much of the rest of the province: a vast and remote area of foothills, forests, lakes and the Peace River valley.  The eastern region beyond the Rockies is the traditional territory of the Dene Tha’ cultural group and further north, the Acho Dene Koe. The mountainous western border of the region is considered traditional Kaska Dena territory.

See the Northeast map