Tsawwassen First Nation

Preferred Name:
Tsawwassen First Nation
Alternative Name:
Variation Tchewassen, Tche-Waasan; Formerly Tsawwassen; Meaning "Beach At The Mouth"; Tsawwassen First Nation Treaty Effective (2009)
Halq'eméylem, hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓, Hul’q’umi’num’
BC Regional Office:
South Coast (Surrey)
Lower Mainland Southwest
Reserve Land Area:272.60 ha
Chief Bryce Williams
Councillor Andrea Jacobs,
Councillor Laura Cassidy,
Councillor Nikki Jacobs,
Councillor Tanya Corbett
Governance Structure:
Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement
Population (off First Nations land):182
Population (on First Nations land):185
Population Total:367
Address: 1926 Tsawwassen Drive
V4M 4G2
Economic Development Contact: Chris Hartman
CEO, Tsawwassen Development Corporation
Fax: (604) 943-9226
Phone: (604) 943-2112
Community Description
The Tsawwassen First Nation is an economically powerful First Nations government whose lands are located in the Greater Vancouver area of the Lower Mainland of British Columbia, Canada, adjacent to the South Arm of the Fraser River and the Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal and just north of the international boundary with the United States at Point Roberts, Washington.
Treaty or Tribal Association
Naut'sa mawt Tribal Council
Economic Development Background
The TFN Economic Development Corporation (TEDC) was established in November 1st, 2009 under the BC Corporations Act to develop Tsawwassen Lands in an economically, socially and environmentally sustainable manner, and to facilitate business relationships. Our shareholders are all of the TFN Members and we are guided by experienced Board of Directors comprised of TFN Members and non-members.