Shxw'ow'hamel First Nation

Preferred Name:
Shxw'ow'hamel First Nation
Alternative Name:
Formerly Ohamil (Variation Ohaunil)
Halq'eméylem, hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓, Hul’q’umi’num’
BC Regional Office:
South Coast (Surrey)
Lower Mainland Southwest
Reserve Land Area:372.10 ha
The Si:yam Council operates collectively and does not elect a single Chief councillor
Councillor Alfred James,
Councillor Brenda Peters,
Councillor Dean Jones,
Councillor Irene Smith,
Councillor Lenora Fraser,
Councillor Leona Kelly,
Councillor Louise Mussell,
Councillor Lucille Casimir,
Councillor Melody Andrews,
Councillor Shawna Peters,
Councillor Sonny Mchalsie
Governance Structure:
Custom Electoral System
Address: 58700 St. Elmo Road
V0X 1L2
Community Description
The Shxw'ow'hamel First Nation is a band government of the Sto:lo people located in the Upper Fraser Valley region near Hope, British Columbia, Canada. Our goal is to support each other on working towards a healthy, educated, cultural and self-sufficient community.