BCAFN Chiefs Re-Elect Regional Chief Terry Teegee at 2020 AGM

  • Press Release

November 18, 2020

News Category
Press Release


The BC Assembly of First Nations Chiefs have re-elected Terry Teegee as the BC Regional Chief during the 17th BCAFN Annual General Meeting held online today. Running for the Regional Chief election was Cheryl Casimer and incumbent Terry Teegee. After the first ballot the Electoral Officer, Ron Laufer announced that Terry Teegee had been re-elected with 82 votes to 57 votes for Cheryl Casimer. Taylor Behn-Tsakoza was elected as the Female Youth Representative.

Media Event: Newly elected BCAFN Regional Chief Terry Teegee and Female Youth Representative Taylor Behn-Tsakoza

The newly elected Regional Chief Terry Teegee will provide remarks and answer questions from members of the media.

When: TODAY – Wednesday, November 18, 2020, 4:30 PM

Where: Via Zoom - Link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/2509621603

Terry Teegee served a previous term (3 years) as Regional Chief for the BCAFN and during that time chaired and co-chaired national portfolios including: justice, fisheries and gaming; as well as leading a number of other critical priorities areas. He is of Dakelh, Gitxsan and Sekani descent and is a member of Takla Nation. As a former Registered Professional Forester, responsible for looking after the forests, forest lands and forest resources, Terry is deeply involved in natural resources development. As Regional Chief, he was an instrumental voice in the development and historic passing of the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act in BC. Before his election as BC Regional Chief, Terry was the elected Tribal Chief of the Carrier Sekani Tribal Council (CSTC) from 2012-2017. Previous to his political aspirations, Terry held forestry and natural resources roles with the CSTC and Takla Nation. He holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Natural Resources Management (Forestry) and a Natural Resources Technology Diploma.

The BCAFN also elected a new Female Youth Representative Taylor Behn-Tsakoza. Ms. Behn-Tsakoza is Eh Cho Dene and Dunne Zaa and is a proud member of Fort Nelson First Nation in northeastern BC, Treaty 8 Territory.

Two positions to the board of directors were awarded to Chief Brian Assu, We Wai Kai and Chief Rosanne Casimir, Tk’emlúps te Secwepemc last month by acclamation.

The BCAFN is looking forward to working with the Chiefs and leaders to confront the challenges of our time including COVID-19, policing and justice, climate emergency and a “new future” post-pandemic era. We are motivated by the urgent need for First Nations rights, inherent laws, title to be acknowledged and respected by all Canadians.

The British Columbia Assembly of First Nations (BCAFN) is a Provincial Territorial Organization (PTO) representing the 204 First Nations in British Columbia. BCAFN representation is inclusive and extends to First Nations currently engaged in the treaty process, those who have signed modern treaties, and those who fall under historic treaty agreements which include the Douglas Treaties and Treaty 8.

View press release pdf