Tsawout First Nation

Preferred Name:
Tsawout First Nation
Alternative Name:
Alternate Tetaihit; Formerly Part Of Saanich (Pre-1957); Includes North Saanich Tribe Of The Douglas Treaty (1852)
Lkwungen, Malchosen, Semiahmoo, SENĆOŦEN, T’Sou-ke
BC Regional Office:
West Coast (Nanaimo)
Vancouver Island & Coast
Reserve Land Area:423.40 ha
Chief Harvey Underwood
Councillor Abraham Pelkey, Councillor Allan Claxton , Councillor John Etzel, Councillor John Wilson, Councillor Toby Joseph , Councillor Stan Sam , Councillor Samantha Etzel, Councillor Donalds Williams
Governance Structure:
Indian Act
Population Total:977
Address: P.O. Box 121
V8M 2C3
Community Description

The Tsawout First Nation is one of five bands that constitute the Saanich Nation. The other bands of the Saanich Nation are Tsartlip, Tseycum, Malahat and Pauquachin.

East Saanich IR No. 2, the Tsawout First Nation main village, is about 15 minutes north of the City of Victoria and lies on the east side of the Saanich Peninsula. The village (“reserve”)  can be accessed via Highway 17 – Pat Bay Highway. We have a population of 1600 people living in Tsawout (year 2006 est.) with approximately 1/3 of the population being registered band members, and others being residents who are leasing lands from landowners.

East Saanich IR No. 2 is approximately 241 hectares in size. There are single family residential, and leased modular homes, band administration and commercial developments. The commercial developments include motels, restaurants, offices and gas stations. We have  a community water and sewer system in place. Our water system is supplied by the Peninsula Water Commission, and Tsawout has its own sewage treatment facility.

Treaty or Tribal Association