Nuxalk Nation

Preferred Name:
Nuxalk Nation
Alternative Name:
Formerly Bella Coola (Pre-1992) (Variation Of Bela Kula; Traditional Name Q'Umquots); Merged With Taleomy (1929) (Variation Taliumc, Tallio, Tallion, Tallium); Includes With Kemsquit (Variation Kinisquit, Kinisquitt) And
BC Regional Office:
West Coast (Nanaimo)
Vancouver Island & Coast
Reserve Land Area:2,025.90 ha
Chief Samuel Schrooner
Councillor Marshal Hans Jr. , Councillor Blair Mack , Councillor Melinda Mack , Councillor Sr. Jim Mack , Councillor Kirtsten Tallio Milton , Councillor Rhonda Morton , Councillor Spuxta Nelson , Councillor Wilma Parr , Councillor Samuel Schrooner , Councillor Iris Siwallace, Councillor Crystal Tallio , Councillor Terry Webber
Governance Structure:
Indian Act
Address: P.O. Box 65
Bella Coola
V0T 1C0
Community Description

The Nuxalk Nation is the government of the Nuxalk people of Bella Coola, British Columbia. The Nuxalk Nation Administration (Band Office) is located in Bella Coola and provides community services by attaining funding primarily from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC). Some of the services provided include access to Housing, Capital Works, Health & Wellness, Fisheries, Forestry, Social Development and more.

Treaty or Tribal Association