Malahat First Nation

Preferred Name:
Malahat First Nation
Alternative Name:
Formally Malahat (1957) (Variation Malakut, Malahut) And Saanich (Pre-1957); Includes North Saanich Tribe Of The Douglas Treaty (1852)
Halq'eméylem, hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓, Hul’q’umi’num’, Lkwungen, Malchosen, Semiahmoo, SENĆOŦEN, T’Sou-ke
BC Regional Office:
West Coast (Nanaimo)
Vancouver Island & Coast
Reserve Land Area:247.90 ha
Chief George Harry
Councillor Cynthia Harry, Councillor Gordon Harry, Councillor Steve Henry
Governance Structure:
Custom Electoral System
Address: 110 Thunder Rd., RR4
Mill Bay
V0R 2P4
Community Description

The Malahat First Nation is a First Nations government located on southeastern Vancouver Island in southwestern British Columbia. With offices in Mill Bay, Malahat's overall objectives include but are not limited to; equity of members, free to determine destiny, prioritizing community development, nation building, wealth, economics, culture, strong leadership, opportunity, build capacity to facilitate change, and bringing back the voice of the people. This translated into a resounding message of recognizing the past, and moving toward the future.

Treaty or Tribal Association
Te'mexw Treaty Association and Naut'sa mawt Tribal Council