Heiltsuk Nation

Preferred Name:
Alternative Name:
Variation Haeeltzuk; Amalgamated With: Kokyet (Variation Coquiette (1890)) & Kilkite; Includes 'Isdaitxv, Xixis, Kilkite, 'Qvuqvayaitxv, Uwithitxv, Uyalitxv; Formerly Bella Bella (1982)(Variation Bil_Balla, Pil-Palla); Includes 'Kviai'Itxv;
BC Regional Office:
West Coast (Nanaimo)
Vancouver Island & Coast
Reserve Land Area:1,420.40 ha
Chief Marilyn Slett
Councillor Denise Carpenter, Councillor Earl Godfrey Newman, Councillor Howard Hunt, Councillor Jaimie Harris, Councillor Jess Housty, Councillor Johnnie Russell Bolton Jr., Councillor Leona M.J. Humchitt, Councillor Marilyn Verna Hall, Councillor Pamela Nicole Wilson, Councillor Pauline Isobel Waterfall, Councillor Travis Hall
Governance Structure:
Custom Electoral System
Address: P.O. Box 880
Bella Coola
V0T 1Z0
Treaty or Tribal Association
Summary of Economic Development Agreements, Community Businesses and Joint Ventures

The Heiltsuk First Nation is party to a number of agreements with the Provincial Government regarding the ongoing and proposed LNG developments in its traditional territory, as well as a Reconciliation Protocol Agreement. It is also party to two Forestry Agreements.