Cowichan Tribes

Preferred Name:
Cowichan Lake
Alternative Name:
Variation Lake Cowichan; Formerly Cowichan Lake; Traditional Name Kaatza Meaning "Big Lake"; Quw’utsun
BC Regional Office:
West Coast (Nanaimo)
Vancouver Island & Coast
Reserve Land Area:42.70 ha
Chief Lydia Hwitsum
Councillor Francine Jacinta Alphonse, Councillor Stephanie Atleo, Councillor Albie J. Charlie, Councillor Cindy Daniels, Councillor Darin George, Councillor Howie George, Councillor Stuart Pagaduan , Councillor Calvin Swustus Jr., Councillor Calvin Swustus Sr., Councillor Dora Wilson
Governance Structure:
Custom Electoral System
Total Registered Population:5298
Address: 313B Deer Road
Lake Cowichan
V0R 2G0
Community Description

Cowichan Tribes are an integral part of the Cowichan Valley as they are one of the largest employers in the region and  invest significant dollars into the local and regional economy.

Closer collaborations with our neighbouring governments are being forged everyday as there is growing recognition that there is more to be gained by working together collectively than pursuing separate paths. This was formally recognized by the signing of a Bridge Building Protocol Agreement in 2003 with leaders of the City of Duncan, the District of North Cowichan, and the Cowichan Valley Regional District.  Since then Cowichan Tribes are working together on a variety of initiatives. 

Cowichan Tribes consists of a relatively young population, with a large percentage of the population under the age of 35.

Cowichan Tribes consists of seven traditional villages: Kw’amutsun, Qwum’yiqun’, Hwulqwselu, S’amuna’, L’uml’umuluts, Hinupsum, Tl’ulpalus. 

The Nation has been delegated responsibility for a variety of services including children & families welfare, education, health, housing, membership, and social development.

Cowichan Tribes is represented by the Hul'qumi'num Treaty Group

Contact the administration office at
Phone: 250-748-3196, fax: 250-748-1233

Treaty or Tribal Association
Hul'qumi'num Treaty Group