Preferred Name:
Alternative Name:
Variation Tahlton; Meaning "Something Heavy In The Water"; Split Into Talhtan & Iskut (1972)
BC Regional Office:
Skeena (Smithers)
North Coast
Reserve Land Area:1,377.10 ha
Chief Richard Daniel Mclean
Councillor Clarence Williams Quock Sr.,
Councillor Curtis Albert Rattray,
Councillor Patrick Henry Carlick Jr.,
Councillor Richard Jackson,
Councillor Scott Joseph Hawkins Sr.
Governance Structure:
Indian Act
Address: P.O. Box 46
Telegraph Creek
V0J 2W0
Community Description
The Tahltan First Nation, together with the neighbouring Iskut First Nation, make up the Tahltan Central Government. The Tahltan Band council is based in Dease Lake, approximately 6 hours north of Terrace by road.
Treaty or Tribal Association
Tahltan Central Government
Summary of Economic Development Agreements, Community Businesses and Joint Ventures
TNDC's primary focus is road construction and maintenance, earthworks and heavy construction, gravel and mine tailing hauling, remote industrial camp operations and building construction. Through its Spatsizi Remote Services division, TNDC also provides camp catering to several clients. TNDC also offers:

-Bridge construction and tunnelling
-Camp, catering and medical
-Commercial explosives
-Drilling, blasting and exploration
-Freight and heavy hauling
-Heavy equipment servicing
-Industrial fuel and petroleum products
-Helicopter and aviation
-IT Management
-Power line construction
-Road construction and maintenance
-Rock hauling
The Tahltan Nation has also engaged in agreements with the mining industry in relation to mining developments in the region.