Lake Babine Nation

Preferred Name:
Lake Babine Nation
Alternative Name:
Amalgamated Old Fort Babine (Variation Old Fort) & Fort Babine To Form Lake Babine (1957)
BC Regional Office:
Skeena (Smithers)
Reserve Land Area:3,093.90 ha
Chief Wilfred Adam
Councillor Delores Alec ,
Councillor Mildred Alec,
Councillor Darcy Dennis ,
Councillor Melvin Joseph ,
Councillor Derek Mccdonald ,
Councillor Darren Patrick ,
Councillor Verna Power,
Councillor Bessie West ,
Councillor Clara Williams
Governance Structure:
Custom Electoral System
Population (off First Nations land):1,022
Population (on First Nations land):1,418
Population Total:2,440
Address: P.O. Box 879
Burns Lake
V0J 1E0
Economic Development Contact: Antoinette Tom
Receptionist, Lake Babine
Fax: (250) 692-4790
Phone: (250) 692-4700
Community Description
Lake Babine Nation is third largest Aboriginal Band in British Columbia. Lake Babine Administration Office is situated 142 miles West of Prince George, with a total registered membership of over 2,438 [based on 2014 population]. The Nation has 27 reserve lands with three (3) communities inhabited year round, and two that are inhabited year round from time to time. Prior to 1957, Lake Babine was two separate Bands, the Old Fort Band and the Fort Babine Band, both situated on the Babine Lake. At the time, approximately 12 communities were inhabited year round. On June 12, 1957, Department of Indian Affairs amalgamated the two Bands to form what is now known as the Lake Babine Nation
Treaty or Tribal Association
Not currently affiliated with any Tribal Association or other groups
Summary of Economic Development Agreements, Community Businesses and Joint Ventures
Lake Babine Nation boasts 5 beautiful and resource rich communities. The Nation has 3 gas bars, a thriving fishery, shared timber areas, and lakeshore land available for business development and investment opportunities.

Investment in cultural tourism opportunities, retail and service areas, alternative energy and various equipment and construction and maintenance projects are of interest to the Lake Babine Nation at this time. Training, partnership and investment are priorities for enhancing the quality of life of the membership and revenues to the Nation and their respective communities overall.

The Economic Development department can assist with exploring employment and training desires, business opportunities, building business skills, and assist with direction to financing and grants with the membership. Priorities also are to establish and undertake research and development projects, analyze existing businesses for competitive advantages and review for investment opportunities for the Nation.
Economic Development Background
Co-owns the Burns Lake Native Development Corporation (BLNDC) as one of 6 local First Nations (Burns Lake, Cheslatta Carrier, Lake Babine, Nee Tahi Buhn, Skin Tyee, and Wet'suwet'en). The BLNDC works to provide the following: assistance with business plan development, government grant applications, general advisory services, pre and post-loan counseling and trouble shooting, economic and community development assistance to Bands and their communities, access to technical, financial, and management information, and develop, organize and run workshops orientated towards economic development and business initiatives.