Seabird Island

Preferred Name:
Seabird Island
Alternative Name:
Alternate Skowakul; Formerly Maria Island (Pre-1924) (Variation Marin Island); Held In Common By Chawathil, Popkum, Peters, Yale, Union Bar, Skwawhlook & Shxw'Ow'Hamel Until 1958; Named After The Steamer "Sea Bird"
Halq'eméylem, hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓, Hul’q’umi’num’
BC Regional Office:
South Coast (Surrey)
Lower Mainland Southwest
Reserve Land Area:2,190.10 ha
Chief James Harris
Councillor Alexis Grace, Councillor Paul Andrew, Councillor Ronald Joe, Councillor Carol Hope, Councillor Stacy McNeil, Councillor Rodney Peters, Councillor Marcia Peters, Councillor James Bobb
Governance Structure:
Custom Electoral System
Address: P.O. Box 650
V0M 1A0
Community Description

Seabird Island is a band government of the Sto:lo people located on Sea Bird Island in the Upper Fraser Valley region, 3 km east of Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada. It includes government, business, service and non-profit services. The Seabird Island Band exists to promote a healthier, self-sufficient, self-governing, unified and educated community. We believe that a healthy community is one that has achieved physical, emotional, mental, spiritual and cultural balance.