Leq'a: mel

Preferred Name:
Leq'a: mel
Alternative Name:
Formerly Sumas (Pre-1962) (Lakahahmen, Alternate Nicomen (1911); Merged With Squeam (Post-1924) (Variation Skweahm)) Which Changed To Lackahahmen (1962-2003); Includes Nicomen Slough, Somass River,
Halq'eméylem, hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓, Hul’q’umi’num’
BC Regional Office:
South Coast (Surrey)
Lower Mainland Southwest
Reserve Land Area:491.20 ha
Chief Alice Thompson
Councillor Camielle Laslo, Councillor Barb Leggat, Councillor Sandra McDonald, Councillor Darrel McKamey, Councillor Philip Sherwood, Councillor Dawn Styran
Governance Structure:
Custom Electoral System
Address: 43101 Leq'a:mel Way
V0M 1G0
Community Description

The Leq' a: mel First Nation, formerly known as the Lakahahmen First Nation, is a First Nations band government whose community and offices are located in the area near Deroche, British Columbia, 12 km east of Mission.