Tl'etinqox Government

Preferred Name:
Tl'etinqox-t'in Government
Alternative Name:
Formerly Anaham (Variation Anahim, Aneham)
BC Regional Office:
Cariboo (Williams Lake)
Reserve Land Area:5,655.90 ha
Chief Joe Alphonse
Councillor Eleanor Cooper, Councillor Harvey Dick, Councillor Blaine Grinder, Councillor Cecil Grinder, Councillor Dale Hance, Councillor Ashton Harry, Councillor Brendon Harry, Councillor Isadore Harry, Councillor Tyron Harry, Councillor Gerald Johnny, Councillor George Mack, Councillor Leslie Stump
Governance Structure:
Indian Act
Population (off First Nations land):1,053
Population (on First Nations land):586
Population Total:
Address: P.O. Box 168
Alexis Creek
V0L 1A0
Economic Development Contact: Melanie Johnny
Capital Projects & Education Manager
Fax: (250) 394-4275
Phone: (250) 394-4212
Community Description

We are the Tsilhqot'in-speaking people – the original inhabitants of a vast and beautiful territory that encompasses forests, grasslands, lakes and desert. For thousands of years, the Tsilhqot'in people were self-reliant and well provided for through their own ingenuity and use of the land and nature. Tl’etinqox (Anaham) is located 100 km west of Williams Lake along Highway 20.

Treaty or Tribal Association
Tsilhqot'in National Government
Summary of Economic Development Agreements, Community Businesses and Joint Ventures

As part of the Tsilhqot'in National Government, Tl'etinqox-t'in Government acts in concert with its fellow Tsilhqot'in member communities to create sustainable economic developments, manage forestry and fisheries, and evaluate mining, oil, and gas propositions in Tsilhqot'in Territory. Tsilhqot'in National Government has entered into several Forest and Range agreements with the Provincial Government.

Economic Development Background

The Tl'etinqox-t'in Government has commenced the development of a Comprehensive Community Plan that will help outline ‘big picture’ strategies to address issues in all aspects of community life – governance, lands and resources, infrastructure and facilities, health, education, social issues, economic development and more.