Lhtako Dene Nation

Preferred Name:
Lhtako Dene Nation
Alternative Name:
Formerly Quesnel (Pre-1988), Red Bluff (1988-2010)
BC Regional Office:
Cariboo (Williams Lake)
Reserve Land Area:682.70 ha
Chief Clifford Lebrun
Councillor Wanda Aldred, Councillor Ray Alfred, Councillor Tim Michell
Governance Structure:
Indian Act
Population (off First Nations land):94
Population (on First Nations land):89
Population Total:183
Address: P.O. Box 4693
V2J 3J9
Economic Development Contact: Gary Yablonski
Band Administrator/ Operations Director
Fax: (250) 747-1341
Phone: (250) 747-2900 ext 301
Community Description

The Lhtako Dene Nation is part of the Dakehl (or Southern Carrier) Nation in the Athapaskan language group. Our main community is located just south of Quesnel, BC

Treaty or Tribal Association
Carrier Chilcotin Tribal Council
Summary of Economic Development Agreements, Community Businesses and Joint Ventures

Lhtako Dene has a Relationship Agreement in place with the Barkerville Gold Mine. Through an agreement with the Provincial Government, Lhtako Dene also began construction of a Biomass Energy Pellet plant. It also has a Clean Energy Business Fun Revenue Sharing Agreement with the Province regarding the Castle Mountain Hydro Project.

Economic Development Background

Economic Development is generally the responsibility of the Lhtako Dene Chief and Council.